Comcast's Dave Watson elected NCTA board chair

June 4, 2020
WarnerMedia’s recently named CEO Jason Kilar also joins NCTA's board of directors.
Preferred Logo Ncta

Dave Watson, president and CEO, Comcast Cable, and senior EVP, Comcast Corporation, has been elected as chairman of the board of directors of NCTA – The Internet & Television Association (NCTA - Washington, DC).

The election took place on June 3, 2020.

In addition, the following officers were elected to serve on the NCTA board of directors: Pat McAdaragh, president and CEO, Midco, as vice chairman; Tom Rutledge, chairman and CEO, Charter Communications, as treasurer; Bob Bakish, president and CEO, ViacomCBS, Inc., as secretary; and Pat Esser, president, Cox Communications, Inc., as immediate past chairman.

Jason Kilar, recently named CEO of WarnerMedia, has also joined the NCTA board as a corporate programmer director, replacing John Stankey.

During annual elections held earlier this year, the following directors were also elected to the NCTA board:

  • At-Large System Directors: John Evans, chairman and CEO, Evans Telecommunications Company, and Pat McAdaragh for three-year terms.
  • Rural/Midsize Directors: Dick Sjoberg, president and CEO, Sjoberg’s Inc., for a two-year term and Phil Spencer, president and CEO, Vyve Broadband, for a year to fill a vacated director’s seat.
  • At-Large Programmer Directors: Bob Bakish; David Nevins, chief creative officer, CBS Inc., and chairman and CEO, Showtime Networks; and Paul Buccieri, president, A+E Networks Group, for two-year terms.
  • Associate Directors: Frank Drendel, chairman, CommScope Holding Company, Inc., for another two-year term and Sandy Howe, EVP and president, Americas, Technetix, for one year to fill a vacated director’s seat.

Other directors who serve on the NCTA Board were not subject to reelection. Learn more at NCTA.